Updates, Spring/Summer2017

Since I have been on a semi-hiatus, it’s been quite awhile since I have last written. Recently I have read 6 books, if not more I just forgot to mark it on Goodreads. This is just a quick post to share a little about each of those books and to check in! What’s everyone reading? All of these are spoiler free reviews, just my thoughts and opinions on each book! (All images are from Goodreads.) Click on the title to be taken to the book description.

It has been many years since I have read a Harry Potter book, and reading one made me feel so nostalgic considering that the majority of my childhood was these seven books. While reading it the second time around, I realized that Harry Potter is one of those books (well, series) that you need to read twice to get everything. There is so so much to this series that I learned even more about it than the last time several years ago. Obviously a 5 stars for this one.

This. Book. WOW. Going into it, I wasn’t sure what to expect but I’m so glad I did. It was such a well written book and I absolutely loved the characters and the setting. It was spooky and actually funny  and there was betrayal and just aghhh! Also, the cover is intense and dark and pretty, which I happen to like.

  • Windwitch ✪ ✪ ✪ ✪
  • By Susan Dennard

Image result for goodreads windwitchConsidering the gap of time between when I read the first book and the second book, I was nervous just diving in but I am so glad I did. The fantasy world is so rich and although it’s kinda hard to keep up with several POVs at once, I also liked waiting for all of the characters and their stories to meet. I loved this book, but that being said, it was a tiny bit slow ? for me. No, slow isn’t the right word. It was fast paced and I liked how it was detailed and not over the top. There was just something missing for me? and I liked Truthwitch better. Nevertheless, I look forward to book 3!!

GUYS!! I had to read this book for school which normally slows down my reading, but not in this case. The writing was fun, the characters were real (and diverse!) and I flew through this book. Not to mention, despite the heavy topic it was eye opening for me as a reader and it wasn’t slow. It was raw and overall I just really loved it. Unfortunately, now I have to do a project on it but it shouldn’t be too bad considering how much I loved this book.

This one really reminded me of These Shallow Graves because of the characters and aura of mystery and betrayal. I loved the time and setting and the prose was so good and not to mention, the spooky factor! I read this so fast and it was all around a nice read, especially if you’ve got an interest in the Victorian era or serial crime.

Image result for legacy of kings goodreadsI finished this book really quickly considering I started almost halfway through. I had read half of it and then had to turn it in to the library before I could renew and finish it. That being said, I feel like I missed out on details and parts of the storyline. I loved the writing and also how covertly factual it was? I read the author’s note about the historical accuracy and it was so cool to see how well the author wove in the fiction with the real deal. I liked the characters and how their stories all intertwined (this is another book with many POVs.) It was my type of fantasy with the medieval backdrop of  swords and castles, but it wasn’t super over the top. I recommend this to anyone who likes to read medieval fantasy type novels.

So that’s all, sorry for the quick and shortness of this, I am on a tight schedule as I’m about to go buddy read at the library with a friend. But it has been forever since I’ve posted so I didn’t want to lose the spark. Once again, I recommend all of these and implore you to check them out. Happy reading and thanks for stopping by! Have you read any of these? What are your thoughts? Let me know, tell me what you’re reading! ▽▽▽

 

One thought on “Updates, Spring/Summer2017

  1. I haven’t had the chance to read Windwitch yet. I adored Truthwitch and had actually started Windwitch earlier this year, but had to put it down before I really got into it due to school. I’m hoping to start it again this summer!

    -Jordan @ The Heart of a Book Blogger

    Like

Leave a Reply

