Rebel of the Sands Review

I’m getting all of my reviews done- yay me! Anyway, I finally got around to reading Rebel of the Sands for my June Reading challenge and I’m obviously about to share my thoughts on it- I think my review might be a surprise to you. WARNING: This review contains spoilers, read at your own risk! I will let you know when a spoiler starts and ends so you can skip over them. : ))

Book: Rebel of the Sands

Author: Alwyn Hamilton

Rating: 3/5 stars!  ✪ ✪ ✪ _ _

Goodreads summary and picture: She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from.

Destined to wind up “wed or dead,” Amani’s counting on her sharpshooting skills to get her out of Dustwalk. When she meets Jin, a mysterious and devastatingly handsome foreigner, in a shooting contest, she figures he’s the perfect escape route. But in all her years spent dreaming of leaving home, she never imagined she’d gallop away on a mythical horse, fleeing the murderous Sultan’s army, with a fugitive who’s wanted for treason. And she’d never have predicted she’d fall in love with him…or that he’d help her unlock the powerful truth of who she really is.

RotS.jpg

Review (Sorry, I’m kinda bad at connecting my thoughts!) : Let me start off by saying that it’s very unique! I really liked the beginning and it had a distinguishable voice and it was a fast read. I was expecting something totally different, though!

It was kinda slow, and it had a lot of potential- especially with the action scenes! SPOILERS BEGIN! I wish we’d gotten to know Jin and the members of the caravan they traveled with better- they seem like super cool characters. Also, I wish that there had been more magic but that Amani didn’t have any. For some reason, I kind of didn’t like how she was a Demdji. It would’ve been cool if we could see Amani and Jin’s relationship more, it was a cool one and we didn’t get to see it too often! I actually didn’t like the ending, we only got to see the battle between Amani and her brother without seeing the other sides. END OF SPOILERS!

The playful banter between the characters was nice, it was kind of funny how Amani was sarcastic! Also, I liked the time skips but I wish they weren’t as long. I feel like there was a lot of character growth we didn’t get to see. The plot twists were good and you always wondered if all of the characters would make it out alive or not! Personally, I was expecting more death than there was.

At times the writing felt kinda plain, and although it doesn’t sound like it- some moments felt cliche. SPOILERS BEGIN! A guy that turns out to be a prince, a ragged group of rebels. Think about it and you might realize this happens often. END OF SPOILERS! Amani definitely grew as a person and I liked that. All in all, the rating was lower because I had a lot of epectations about this books and it didn’t quite live up to all of them but it was still a fun read and it wouldn’t hurt to check it out! : ))cropped-snoopywithbook.gif

Aren’t you proud?! I got my reviews done. I might have some fun posts coming to you later on and when I finish it, I’ll post a review of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han. Later book friends!

 

4 thoughts on “Rebel of the Sands Review

Leave a Reply

