The Raven King Review

*Gasp.* Yes, I am actually catching up on my reviews! So today I have a kinda spoiler free review of The Raven King and I am so excited to share my thoughts with you- and boy, do I have a lot of them. So I’m kinda gonna bullet my key points so I can get them across without droning on forever!

Book: The Raven King

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: 5/5 stars!  ★★★★★

Goodreads summary and picture: Nothing living is safe. Nothing dead is to be trusted.

For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey… and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

thereaveking

Review points: First off- that cover is gorgeous and one page into the book, the prologue had my head spinning!

  • It was so fun to dive back into the lives of my favorite Henrietta-an (?) friends! It was a nice transition from 3rd to final book, and it felt like all of the other books did. I’ve noticed that sometimes, the style of a book changes when it’s the last one. Knowing the final hunt for Glendower was finally in my hands, I had a bajillion theories and built up a ton of suspense. Even so, it was the perfect ending and there were plot twists and turns along the way!
  • It picks up the pace and their problems come into full view a little bit later on, and it gets better and more mysterious in the Maggie Stiefvater kind of way. Things begin to happen that you don’t understand but they’ll all morph together and connect later on! Sometimes the POVs were kinda random, and it made it a little bit more confusing until you got to connect it later. You’re like: “what is this person’s remaining relevance to the story?”
  • The writing was actually funny at times and the romance was really cute and happy.. I have to admit, I must’ve sounded weird when I was squealing with that special booknerd glee at random parts in the story. The action was intense and I just HAVE to mention the writing. It was eerie and dark and mysterious all while being beautiful and descriptive and alluring. It gives the series a totally unique voice! The ending wasn’t as good as I’d expected it to be, considering how intense the circumstances were in the plot and how fantastic of a writer that Maggie Stiefvater is, but it was still so intense and all around awesome.
  • There was a small bit of LGBTQ representation, which made me happy. (Highlight the page to see the spoiler-y phrase: PYNCH (Parrish & Lynch) .) Also, I feel like a few small things were unsolved, and I also wish that we got to see more of the relationships that unfolded in this book! And at the end, I wish that the epilogue hadn’t split up the characters but ended where all of the Raven Boys and Blue were together.

All in all, The Raven King was a truly awesome series wrap up and to me, it ended perfectly because I only felt like I had lost my soul for a few hours rather than a few days. 😉 Like I said, 5/5 stars- totally reccomend! Thanks for reading and I’ll have more reviews coming your way soon. Up next: Rebel of the Sands review! My rating might be surprising to you…

 

Leave a Reply

