Spoiler Free Review: The Winner’s Curse

I did a buddy read in a group hosted by Sarah (I think you can still join) and finished it in about 3 days. Although I flew through it, I did manage to record many of my thoughts!

Book: The Winner’s Curse
Author: Marie Rutkoski
Rate: ★★★★ (4/5 stars.)

the winners curse.jpg

***Image credit to Goodreads.***

Goodreads Summary: As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.

Review: The Winner’s Curse was very well crafted with rich writing and complex characters. I couldn’t really relate to them, but they were definitely cool and different! Sometimes there wasn’t really anything too remarkable going on, and there was a lot of internal monologue but it still kept me interested on what happened next. I do think it was pretty slow, but I enjoyed it a lot and couldn’t put it down. Some other points were:

  • Both main characters contradicted themself multiple times, which sometimes confused me on how they felt at times.
  • The characters were unlike any others I’ve read about before!
  • There was a lot of set-up for major plot points, but it wasn’t super predictable.
  • I wish that there was more world-buiding, because you don’t learn a whole ton on how the societies are, and the stuff you did learn made you more interested.
  • The pace picks up once you get further in.
  • I wish Kestrel made some different choices than she did in the end of the book, but over all, everything was great!

If you read this, what did you think of it? Is it on your TBR? Tell me your thoughts!!!!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Spoiler Free Review: The Winner’s Curse

  1. I’m sooooooo excited for The Winner’s Kiss (third book in The Winner’s Curse series). The writing is very well crafted. I’m still at awe honestly. You should definitely checkout The Winner’s Crime soon 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome, awesome review! I agree with every point you made! I wish there was a little more world building and background as well and the pacing really does pick up towards the end, its the reason I finished it! I keep telling everyone it’s definitely worth it to push on until the end! Once again great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!!!!! I picked up the second book but had to return it to the library before I was done so hopefully I won’t get too bored and forget that The Winner’s Kiss is worth it when you push through! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

