Review- The Selection

Days ago, I found myself trying to push away the feeling of an oncoming reading slump. With all of the excitement of Christmas, I wasn’t reading too much!!!! So, I picked up Kiera Cass’ The Selection, to see if the next read on my TBR would pull me out of it. Sure enough, it did. I stayed up late trying (and succeeding) to finish it. I was tired, but I have no regrets.

Book: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Goodreads summary:ย For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herselfโ€”and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

Rating: 4/5 stars

Review: Alright, I don’t have many bad things to say about this book, so here are the few things that I don’t like:

  • America Singer’s job is singing. Ok then.
  • MINOR SPOILERS. I don’t like how quickly she got over Aspen. They were talking about getting married one minute, and then she was all angry at him. I mean, I would be too but it happened SO fast.
  • America was the only character I actually liked. I don’t ship her with anyone, and her friends/the other girls are all super fake.

That’s it! It may seem super negative, but then there are the good things to take into consideration. The idea was great, the plot was awesome, and oh boy, the writing was FANTastic. I really liked America because she seemed so down to Earth and everything. It wasn’t as princess like as you think it would be, but it’s not like America is one of those cases where people think that you’re either a “girly-girl” or a tomboy. It’s not stereotypical and it never says how America is just one thing, because let’s be honest, *gasp* I can be girly and like pink and dresses but be a strong minded person! I really liked America because she was a “kickass female protagonist” without having to be some stealth ninja with cool weapons.

This book was super fresh and good, and I read through it in one sitting. It was also a suprise because there were several funny parts where I just completely laughed out loud! Also, it was *second gasp* one of those times when a love triangle… WORKED.

I will be picking up the sequel, and you should try reading The Selection as well. I’ve heard lots of mixed things, either people have hated it or people have loved it. Thanks for reading, and I’ll be back with more reviews soon!!!

theselectionreview.jpg

8 thoughts on “Review- The Selection

    1. SAME!!! I know that people are either disgusted by it or like SIGN ME UP although I am a little worried about why there are so many more books in the series? I’m sure something else will happen in the sequels but I HATE it when series are utterly dragged on for ages!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I was a little iffy on this book. I thought it was kind of meh. Though it does read very quickly, I agree. I’ve read the rest of the books in the series as well, and I can definitely say that America DOESN’T get over Aspen quickly. They have a ton of moments in the next two books. Sometimes it gets annoying. That’s actually a lot of the reason many people don’t like this series – because of Aspen and the love triangle in general. Everyone likes Maxon better, so they didn’t really care about America semi-getting over Aspen.
    Anyway, good luck on the rest of this series! The next ones are just as fast paced as this one, and great for ending reading slumps. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!! I know, this book definitely has more setbacks, but I did think it was a lot better than I thought it was going to be! At the end, Aspen was introduced back and now I feel like she’ll start to feel more hard for him, especially since he’s explained himself!!!!

      Like

  2. This is one book I don’t think I’ll be reading anytime soon, but I’m glad you enjoyed it! Also, good review-I really appreciate when people are able to balance their likes and dislikes on a subject. I think it greatly improves the experience for the reader!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think this series has already released its last book? But I never got the interest even though the hype is bugging me, its beautiful covers and princesses. Still, glad you liked it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

