Obsidian Review!

I finished Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout yesterday, and all I can say is: man. WHat a BoOK.

Book: Obsidian

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Goodreads summary: Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Rating: 4/5 stars

Review: Alright, I want to start with the bad stuff and get to the good stuff, so you’ll see my reasoning progress.

It was very cliche. I’m talking “kid moves to some small town because their family is looking for a fresh start because someone died” cliche. Then there’s the whole “hot boy next door” case. Then, the cliche fades. It stops being bad, but then there are personal wishes of mine like the fact that I also kind of wish she acted differently about the whole alien thing. I mean, I actually like her reaction it’s just that she calmed down super quickly and was like “yeah I’m cool with it.” Also, I’m fine with small time skips but they happened frequently in this book.

That’s really the only bad stuff I can say about this book. The writing was amazing, it had contemporary stuff and romance but it also had action, paranormal and sci-fi elements to it. The characters were literally AWESOME, and I could not put it down! The plot was so well written, and honestly the last thing I have to say is:

The main character had a book blog and there were aliens in it. What more can I say to make you want to read this???

I don’t have much to say about this book, because I read it too quickly and I didn’t take as many notes. But, I want to leave off on a good note saying please read Obisidan!!! I’m so excited to read the rest of them. : )

2 thoughts on “Obsidian Review!

Leave a Reply

