Clockwork Angel Review

I found myself FINALLY starting the Infernal Devices series, and all I can say until I start this review is MAN. THIS BOOK.

Book: Clockwork Angel (The Infernal Devices book 1.)

Author: Cassandra Clare

Goodreads summary: In a time when Shadowhunters are barely winning the fight against the forces of darkness, one battle will change the course of history forever. Welcome to the Infernal Devices trilogy, a stunning and dangerous prequel to the New York Timesbestselling Mortal Instruments series.

The year is 1878. Tessa Gray descends into London’s dark supernatural underworld in search of her missing brother. She soon discovers that her only allies are the demon-slaying Shadowhunters—including Will and Jem, the mysterious boys she is attracted to. Soon they find themselves up against the Pandemonium Club, a secret organization of vampires, demons, warlocks, and humans. Equipped with a magical army of unstoppable clockwork creatures, the Club is out to rule the British Empire, and only Tessa and her allies can stop them…

Final rate: 4/5 stars

This review probably won’t make sense if you don’t know anything about this series, or the one is spins off of.

Review: I just want to start off with the fact that it is not often when spinoff series or prequels are well done. BUT, Clockwork Angel has to be pretty good! I wish that they went more into the character lineage and everything  that links it to the series it is before, Cassie Clare’s The Mortal Instruments– but I feel that it happens later on in the trilogy.

I also would like to point out how PRETTY these books are!!!! Anyway, let’s begin.

I found that the beginning was actually kind of slow, since really nothing was happening for awhile as the current situation of the main character, Tessa, was being explained. Also, Tessa was really the only character I found myself liking. I absolutely LOVED the whole time period, and I also enjoyed it when it started to talk about particular things. For example, I loved the descriptions of character appearances, of the Institute, London, and when it started to talk about “gears and cogs.” I’m not sure why, I just thought the wording was neat/pretty!

That leads me into the writing. It wasn’t necissarily boring or plain, but it also wasn’t beautiful and neat the whole time, save for the random times that it started to talk about all of the things I just started to rave about above. 🙂 I mean, it would be kinda “Tessa walked up the steps” and then a few paragraphs later it would break into some kind of detailed paragraph. Despite this, I really liked the writing!!!!

Also, there was a GREAT and amazing ending full of suspense and twists and turns!!!! The whole betrayal and everything made it really good, and I still enjoyed the small scenes afterward.

All in all, Clockwork Angel was definately a great read!

clockwork ange review 1

2 thoughts on “Clockwork Angel Review

  1. I started Clockwork Angel a while ago, but recently I’ve wanted to read the series (because I hear there’s Clockwork Princess spoilers in COHF so I want to read that first ahh). I didn’t like it originally because I just couldn’t bring myself to like Tessa. I don’t know what it is, maybe it’s because the beginning was a little too slow and put me off in general? Who knows. Anyway, great review! I can’t wait to attempt to read it again.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

