Review- The Jewel by Amy Ewing

So last night, awhile before bed, I wasn’t tired. Of course, my first idea of what to do besides force myself to sleep was read. I picked up my book from the nightstand and turned to my page to read.

I finished it. (Yay me : )

So, that brings me here- to post my first review!!!!!!

Book: The Jewel

Author: Amy Ewing

Final rate: 4/5

Summary: The Jewel means wealth. The Jewel means beauty. The Jewel means royalty. But for girls like Violet, the Jewel means servitude. Not just any kind of servitude. Violet, born and raised in the Marsh, has been trained as a surrogate for the royalty—because in the Jewel the only thing more important than opulence is offspring.

Purchased at the surrogacy auction by the Duchess of the Lake and greeted with a slap to the face, Violet (now known only as #197) quickly learns of the brutal truths that lie beneath the Jewel’s glittering facade: the cruelty, backstabbing, and hidden violence that have become the royal way of life.

Violet must accept the ugly realities of her existence… and try to stay alive. But then a forbidden romance erupts between Violet and a handsome gentleman hired as a companion to the Duchess’s petulant niece. Though his presence makes life in the Jewel a bit brighter, the consequences of their illicit relationship will cost them both more than they bargained for. (This is the Goodreads summary!!!! I take no credit for it!!!!! I repeat- this summary is not mine!!!!!!!)

I really liked this book. I mean, my rate was 4/5 stars! The writing was simply gorgeous and beautiful, but it wasn’t full of descriptions that made the (perfectly sized) chapters a few extra pages. The idea of the book was fresh and unique and there was a lot of well-written character growth. I loved the characters! I hate it when books seem to skip time and the character is suddenly all grown up and responsible. The only thing that deters my rate was that in the middle, not much happened. I kind of understand why, and of course there were some moments that made it move along but it just took awhile to get into the more important events, which were at the end.

But man can I say, the beginning was really good and the end was REALLY good it was one of those books in which anyone reading it FREAKS out- I was freaking out! I will be reading the sequel (The White Rose) because OH MAN that ENDING!!!!!! The cover synopsis is like “I don’t know man” but when you start reading it you’ll understand everything and then you’re just all “Man, I DO know.” I DO recommend this book! 4/5 stars!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Review- The Jewel by Amy Ewing

Leave a Reply

