Fictional Friday #1

So I’ll be starting a new tag to do every Friday, and anyone else is welcome to do it! It’s called, well, Fictional Friday! Every Friday I’ll make and answer (a) bookish question(s) that has a general theme. One Friday could be characters, another could be pet peeves, playlists, ships, things I associate with books, et cetera.

This Friday’s theme is……. *insert drum-roll here.*

 

Top 5 things I like about the physical appearance of books! I’m not going to do this in any specific order or rank them, but I’m still listing my 6 favorites.

1- The smell.

I am OBSESSED with the way the ink & paper of books smell. The funny thing is, they all smell different and I (for some reason) will smell books.  I’m not quite sure why? Alright then. Moving along.

2-  The cover.

Now, this isn’t always true, but for most books the cover photography fascinates me! If you grab 3 books with a general color scheme, chances are that the arrangement will look gorgeous. Like I said, sometimes the covers are just… ???? but for other times it’s like a blessing from the book gods.

3- The spine.

This kind of goes along with the last one, but if you think about it, don’t full bookshelves look beautiful?! If your answer was no, I think you need to sort out your life decisions. When books are arranged in such a crafty way upon shelves, the spines look really good. Like, REALLY good. I’m jealous of half of the people that buy all of their books. *Winks.*

4- The texture of the pages.

I love the way the cottony paper feels under my fingers as I turn the pages of books. To me there’s something really satisfying about holding a book in my hands. (Watch me say this until I get a paper-cut.)

5. The fonts.

Again, this doesn’t go for all books. But, with some books the inky font just looks really good against the white of the page. It adds character to the book!

Thank you for reading this, and I hope you stick around to see any of my future posts!!!!! 🙂 (P.S. Don’t my socks look fabulous? ↓ )

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset
Leave a Reply

